The Best Records of 2010

Or, rather, my favorite records of 2010. So far. Every year other Best Of lists (like Lauren‘s) remind me how spotty my music exposure is: I only recently found about 2010 albums by favorites like The Russian Futurists, Land of Talk, and Foals. I’ll be listening to them in January, realize they’re all amazing, and amend the list you see below.

With that caveat, here are my favorite records of the year. Some notable absences (The Arcade Fire) never really cohered for me beyond a few great songs. These are all pretty great front to back, with Wild Nothing’s debut a clear favorite.

  1. Wild Nothing – Gemini
  2. Gigi – Maintenant
  3. John Adams – I Am Love Soundtrack
  4. Sleigh Bells – Treats
  5. The National – High Violet
  6. Beach House – Teen Dream
  7. Vampire Weekend – Contra
  8. The Walkmen – Lisbon
  9. Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
  10. How to Dress Well – Love Remains
  11. Girls – Broken Dreams Club
  12. Girl Talk – All Day
  13. Male Bonding – Nothing Hurts
  14. Magic Kids – Memphis
  15. Radio Dept.  РClinging to a Scheme
  16. LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening
  17. Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
  18. Gorillaz – Plastic Beach
Here’s a zip file of one song from each record. (Mediafire, you screwed me! Looking into alternate methods. Update soon.)
Leave a comment

Filed under music

Leave a Reply

