Nerd Jeopardy, Dec. 2nd

Attention friends and competitive enemies: haven’t you grown frustrated with Jeopardy!, with all its questions about the Reformation? Not to mention the absence of any alcoholic beverages on set?

Fear not. I’m hosting Nerd Jeopardy night at Lolita Bar on December 2nd. Think of real Jeopardy!, but replace all the questions about European history with ones about books and publishing. Add an hour of free drinks courtesy of Verso, and a gift prize courtesy of McNally Jackson. And, to make it even better, we’ll have three teams of three competing.

You have questions?

So how do I play? Show up, grab two friends, add your name to the hat. I’ll draw three teams.

Should we wear matching Adidas tracksuits? Sure Ami, why not.

I haven’t read Joyce in years, am I fucked? Hardly. The questions will be broad enough to accommodate many reading preferences.

What if my team isn’t chosen? You can cheer on the contestants. I’ll also have a special quiz for you, with a separate audience prize.

I want my team to have a funny literary name. I’m with you there.

I like books, but I don’t like like books. Stay home, then. This event is for true believers only. Also you won’t get half the jokes.

I’m thinking about buying an ereader. Kindle or iPad? Kobo? Arrgh, shut up about this already! Not the time or the place.

Will there be surprises? Glad you asked. There will be surprises.

Is it true Alex Trebek recorded an ad for Jeopardy! while drunk? It is:

Event Details:

Nerd Jeopardy
December 2nd, 6:30 PM
Lolita Bar, 266 Broome St.
Free drinks 7-8pm
Facebook Invite

1 Comment

Filed under event, farrar straus and giroux, industry, work in progress

One response to “Nerd Jeopardy, Dec. 2nd

Leave a Reply

