Pynchon Playlist: Songs for “Inherent Vice”

Inherent ViceI’m a third into Pynchon’s latest novel, which after a slow start I’m thoroughly enjoying. Once again the stoner maximalist finds an appropriate frame for his paranoiac pop-culture mélange. Friends know I hold his debut V near and dear to my heart – aligning his character’s search for knowledge parallel to his readers’ was a masterstroke – this time Pynchon uses his protagonist’s daily marijuana habit to justify our inability to keep all the strands together. It’s like watching The Dude on Jeopardy!, except, you know, lives are at stake. Maybe.

In keeping with my summer music diet of drowsy surf songs (I blame the recession – powerpop just doesn’t feel right), I came up with a playlist for Inherent Vice. I tried to tread the line between summer fun and summer bummers. Bonus points: a few of the bands here hail from southern California.

(Usual caveat: I’m not hosting these mp3s directly, so if the link is dead try Hype Machine or iTunes.)

Buy the book on Indiebound

UPDATE: Ah, but I should have known. The great man created a playlist himself! Up on the book’s Amazon page.

add to del.icio.us : add to furl : Digg it : Stumble It! : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

Leave a comment

Filed under reading

Leave a Reply

