My New Job at FSG

As Futurama‘s Dr. Farnsworth would say, “Good news, everyone!” I’ve transitioned from Macmillan’s central online marketing department to working exclusively for Farrar, Straus and Giroux. I’m now the “Online Marketing Manager.” Why? A few reasons:

  1. Have you read FSG’s books? Yes? Then you understand. In 2010 alone we’re publishing work by Jonathan Franzen, Alex Ross, Nelson Mandela, and Jimmy Carter, in addition to a slew of debut writing. This is one aspect I truly value – too often other publishers’ online marketing efforts are directed solely at already established bestsellers or celebrities. I’m concerned with the new methods for building an author’s readership from scratch. Yes, it’s more of a challenge. I like challenges.
  2. Working on the corporate level for Macmillan has been valuable, especially the different ways our publishers approach their myriad audiences. It goes without saying that First Second is an entirely different beast than St. Martin’s Press or Macmillan Audio. I felt it was time to specialize, to work closely with authors and titles in a way I couldn’t before. And since I grew up reading FSG’s authors and greatly respect the people who work there, it was a natural fit. (At least, here’s hoping.)
  3. I’ve come up with a list of a dozen experiments for 2010, all in the service of navigating the changes in reader’s habits. These are not grand, expensive ideas. But they are easier to implement with a focused list and an equally focused team of editors and publicists.
  4. Destroyer’s “Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Sea of Tears).” How many other publishing houses do you know have such indie rock bona fides?

More to come, as these projects take shape. It’s going to be an awesome fucking year.

add to del.icio.us : add to furl : Digg it : Stumble It! : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

5 Comments

Filed under macmillan

5 responses to “My New Job at FSG

  1. Alex Peterson

    I just sent you a little note via LinkedIn about your new gig, but this post answers it all. Congrats — sounds really exciting! Also, I’m curious what your 2010 experiments are. Care to share industry insider info??? :)

  2. Some books you lend, but FSG books are the ones you keep. Nice going. Looking forward to see what you do there.

  3. Good going, Ryan! This sounds like a great job for you, and for a publisher that’s always been supportive of experimental efforts in the service of great writing, to boot.

  4. I cannot tell you how happy this makes me. FSG has not been the fastest or most welcoming publisher to online media or initiatives. I have no doubt this will change all that for the better.

    Congratulations Ryan! Couldn’t have gone to a better man.

  5. Good stuff, Ryan.

    I look forward to exchanging notes with you next time I’m in the building.

    If there’s ever anything I can do to help, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

